It’s Hard…Until It’s Not

It  is an age-old lesson that is quite easy to forget when facing a large obstacle. Sure, you can tell yourself to take things one step, one moment at a time. However, even that doesn’t always prevent you  from feeling like a tiny bird facing a giant, looming forest.  Of course, there are many different versions all over the world that something isn’t worth it if it is easy. Unless you have developed and consistently practiced using the willpower and determination necessary to overcome challenges, this isn’t going to help much. Only sheer commitment and effort can help you get started on a new path. So what do you do when it feels like you can’t take one more step down that path? You can give up. Often there may not even be any valid judgement in walking away from that path. Sometimes though, you really should just force yourself to take one more step and then one more step. Why? Simply because you know it is worth it and you need to finish walking the path.You will find that at one point it becomes easier to move forward. You might even begin to crave the momentum and challenge.  I had one of those “Aha!” moments the other day. While working out, I realized that I felt better than on previous sessions and that I wanted to keep going longer. I was able to push myself harder and further. I didn’t even mind working harder. It is definitely a nice feeling. I have worked hard in my life. I have been lazy at times too. The benefits are much more rewarding for working hard, but you have to know it is worth it. I can’t work out and eat better for purely vain reasons. It doesn’t work for me. I have a deeper love affair with food than I do with being “skinny” or “hot.” What  I do want is to be able to make it up several flights of stairs without being out of breath. I want to be in the kind of shape that allows me to go out dancing or hiking without wanting to pass out after a short amount of time. I want to be able to fully live. No matter what the challenge is that faces me, I have the control. I have to know that what I want is worth it. I have to make it important. If it isn’t important, then I have to reconsider the goal I am pursuing and possibly change course. For today though, I am enjoying reaching a new point for myself.

Leave a Reply

